Arm Education: Internet of Things Course - Review

Table of contents

RoadTest: Arm Education: Internet of Things Course

Author: ytan

Creation date:

Evaluation Type: Development Boards & Tools

Did you receive all parts the manufacturer stated would be included in the package?: True

What other parts do you consider comparable to this product?: n/a

What were the biggest problems encountered?: Majority of the time spent of troubleshooting issues related to the tools (undocumented gotchas and license issues), which would have been better invested in learning the content.

Detailed Review:

I am a software/electronics freelancer, working with small/medium sized businesses to develop prototypes and end products. Most of my projects rely on off-the-shelf boards (Arduino Uno, Mega, Due, ESP32, etc.) and I leverage heavily on the Arduino platform/libraries. Arm Education: Internet of Things Course appealed to me, because I was hoping to expand my knowledge in the growing IoT industry. I have completed ARM Accredited Engineer (AAE) program some years back, which i enjoyed immensely. Naturally, I was stoked to find myself chosen to be a Road Test participant, and couldn't wait to get started with another Arm course.

Image: I am disappointed to say that the robot on the front page is not related to the course at all.

Boards I have received

The course materials were far from ready when I received my package from e14, but I can't wait to unbox and inspect them. From left to right, they are as follows:

• Nucleo F401RE (STM32 Nucleo-64 dev board 84 MHz STM32F401RE MCU, 512 KB flash, 96 KB SRAM with Arduino pin compatibility)
  • X-NUCLEO-IKS01A2 (Motion MEMS and environmental sensor expansion board for STM32 Nucleo)
  • X-NUCLEO-IDB05A1 (Bluetooth Low Energy expansion board based on SPBTLE-RF module for STM32 Nucleo)

Image: Nucleo and the two expansion boards

Nucleo F401RE - Dev board